Have you received a DUI in another state, and then moved your permanent residence to South Carolina? If so, this blog is pertinent to how you may go about obtaining your South Carolina license legally.
For example sake, let’s look at the state of California. If someone received a second DUI in the state of California, then prior to completing their mandatory requirements for having their license reinstated, they moved to South Carolina; they may find themselves in quite a predicament.
In that state, upon receiving your second DUI conviction, you are required to complete a mandatory 18 month program similar to that in South Carolina, but much longer. Thusly, if they move to South Carolina, the person will have one of two options in reinstating their license.
According to the California DMV, the new South Carolina resident must first contact the Mandatory Actions Unit ( MAU) to determine the status of their offense. This is a small unit in Sacramento, CA, that essentially holds all of the information regarding your offense. MAU will then contact South Carolina’s DMV in the resident’s current county, or give the resident the required information to take the next step.
The new SC resident will have the option (depending on which county and year they received their California conviction) to do one of two things.
The first option is to complete a comparable class in South Carolina, to California’s 18 month requirement. This may vary as well, and contacting a South Carolina DUI attorney would be the most prudent decision for particulars.
However, the second option, although not always applicable, may allow you to bypass the entire DUI program requirement. Accordingly, a person may sign a document stating that they will never return to their conviction state, and in doing so, they may be eligible to obtain their South Carolina license without completing their previous state’s mandatory requirement.
This may all sound confusing, and the law is confusing as is. Thus, if you find yourself in the aforementioned situation or one similar to it, contact the DUI attorneys a Reeves, Aiken, and Hightower, LLP and let us do the heaving lifting. Contact us toll-free at 877-374-5999 for a free consultation today.